# OVSA VOORSITTERSVERSLAG 2008 EASA CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT 2008

## NAYDENE DE LANGE

Dit was 'n voorreg om gedurende 2008 as voorsitter van die Opvoedkunde Vereniging van Suid-Afrika op te tree, moontlik gemaak deur die ondersteuning van 'n uitsonderlike bestuurskomitee.

## • Executive Committee for 2008:

Prof Irma Eloff (outgoing chairperson) - University of Pretoria

Prof Naydene de Lange (chairperson) - University of KwaZulu-Natal

Prof Chris Reddy (incoming chairperson)- Stellenbosch university

Prof Philip Van der Westhuizen (SAJE editor) Northwest University

Prof Raj Mestry (treasurer) - university of Johannesburg

Prof Tilla Olivier (co-opted member for 2008) – Nelson Mandela Metropolitan university. Tilla, a stalwart and the 'association' memory, has completed her last year of participating in the EASA executive. I wish to take this opportunity to thank her for her dedicated service to EASA.

Merle de Waal (secretary) - University of the Free State

Three Executive meetings were held in 2008, the first one at the beginning of the year at the Conference at Langebaan, the second one in March, hosted by University of KwaZulu-Natal, and the third one in October, hosted by Stellenbosch University. These meetings are crucial to keeping the EASA wheels turning, and I wish to thank each member sincerely for fulfilling their respective roles with enthusiasm, diligence and care. I also wish to thank the Deans of the Education Faculties to which the executive members belong, for sponsoring the traveling to and from the executive meetings.

#### Conference 2008

Dít is gawe herinneringe wat ek van die kongres van 2008 het: die heerlike ligging van Klub Mykanos (Langebaan) aan die Weskus, die uitsonderlike gassprekers, Prof Tom Popkewitz, Prof Heila Lotz-Sisitka en Prof Crain Soudien; die ryke verskeidenheid en hoë gehalte referate; die gesellige samesyn; die Griekse atmosfeer en die vrolike ete by Boesmanplaaskombuis. Die kongres is deur Univesiteit Stellenbosch aangebied met Prof Chris Reddy as sameroeper. Die Opvoedkunde

Vereniging van Suid-Afrika se jaarlikse kongresse is 'n hoogtepunt op akademici se kalender, en 'n goeie manier om 'n jaar af te skop.

#### Conference motions

No motions were put forward at the 2008 Annual General Meeting, and therefore there were none to follow up or to report back about.

### • Election of new vice-chairperson

At the 2008 Annual General Meeting, Prof Chris Reddy was nominated to be the new chairperson. His nomination was unanimously accepted. Prof Liesel Ebersöhn was nominated as vice-chairperson.

#### Awards

The annual EASA awards acknowledge the contributions that individuals make to the promotion of Education in South Africa and to the enhancement of research. In July all EASA members were invited to submit nominations for the three award categories: Medal of Honour, Research Medal, and Young Researcher. This year the nominations were once again of outstanding quality and the Executive Committee took great care to assess the nominations according to the criteria set out in the EASA Constitution.

At the Award Ceremony the following recipients were announced:

Medal of Honour: Prof Wally Morrow (The ceremony at which the medal was handed

over in Port Elizabeth was a highlight of 2008)

Research Medal: Prof Maríe Poggenpoel Young Researcher: Prof Línda Theron

We also acknowledge the work that every EASA member does and trust that such awards will serve to spur us all on to greater things.

#### · Website revamp

The EASA website at <a href="http://www.easa.ac.za">http://www.easa.ac.za</a> has been revamped to be more user-friendly and accessible. This site belongs to the members of EASA and we would like members to post interesting and relevant education issues on the site. The contributions could be sent to Merle de Waal, the secretary. Merle de Waal and Christine Voster need to be thanked for their input into the construction of the new website.



## South African Journal of Education

Our flagship, the SA/E, has under the editorship of Prof Philip van der Westhuizen and his team, gone from strength to strength, being listed on Thompson's ISI: Social Sciences Index as well as IBSS. Furthermore, driven by the notion of open access to research, the SA/E is accessible on the internet, allowing everyone access, but also enabling an analysis of who visits the site and downloads articles.

## Forging national and international links

#### National Research Foundation

The Chairpersons of EASA and Kenton Education Association were invited to the NRF in August 2008 to discuss the possibility of a national education conference in 2010, bringing together the education related associations. Further consultation with other stakeholders about the feasibility thereof is to take place and the NRF will keep the chairperson of EASA informed of new developments.

Initiative to become part of establishing a World Education Research Association

Prof Van der Westhuízen has been in touch with Felice Levine, one of the members participating in the international meetings to establish a world education research association. They are keen to have EASA on board and have invited us to the 5<sup>th</sup> International Meeting to be held in San Diego at the same time as AERA. The idea is to participate in these meetings and `to position EASA as a potential member of WERA. It is the Executive Committee's wish that Prof van der Westhuízen represent EASA in San Diego.

Having had the opportunity to convene the 2009 annual conference, brings to a close a successful year of being EASA chairperson. I wish Prof Chris Reddy, the chairperson of 2009, well in leading the Education Association of South Africa.

.....

Prof Naydene de Lange EASA Chairperson 2008